Connect with us

Android

How To Delete Messages From Instagram From Both Sides

Do you often wonder whether you can delete Instagram DMs from both sides? Well, here are some easy ways listed in this article where readers will come across the method about how to delete messages on Instagram from both sides.

Instagram is generally known as a platform to post photos and videos with your followers and to check out what’s going on in your friends’ and favorite celebrities’ lives, the social media platform also offers a feature known as Instagram Direct, which serves as Instagram’s own private messaging system.

Sometimes people get into a situation where a user might have sent something by accident or inappropriate and wishes to delete it from both sides. Instagram Messenger offers various services to make it easier for IG users to manage direct messages. According to dudegangwar.com Some of the beneficial features proffered to users are :

  • Edit Direct Messages: Schedule sends direct messages automatically. (This feature works best when it comes to editing your Instagram post)
  • Access DMs from Email: Link your IG account to your email and manage DMs within it.
  • Mass DM – Send as many DMs to as many accounts as you like.
  • Auto reply: Use preset messages to reply to direct messages.
  • Link Multiple Accounts – Link more than one IG account and manage from a single dashboard.
  • Targeted DMs: Send DMs to designated accounts, new fans, existing fans, and even fans of specific hashtags.

Step-By-Step Guide To Delete Messages From Instagram From Both Sides

Step 1: Locate the Instagram icon on your device’s home screen and tap to open the app.

Step 2: In the upper right-hand corner of the screen, click on the Instagram Direct icon, which appears as a small paper plane.

Step 3: Now, go to the conversation you wish to delete. On your iPhone, swipe left to reveal the Mute and Delete options and for Android users, you can find these options by tapping and holding on to the conversation.

Step 4: Tap Delete on the conversation. A pop-up will appear asking you to confirm your wish to delete the conversation. Tap Delete again to remove the conversation completely.

It should be noted that deleting a conversation only removes it from your inbox. The person you had the conversation with can still see it in their own inbox unless they also delete it.

How To Delete Private Instagram Messages By Unsending Them

  1. After tapping the Instagram icon on your phone’s home screen, open your Instagram Direct inbox by tapping the small paper plane icon in the upper right-hand corner of your screen.
  2. Locate the conversation in which the message you wish to unsend appears and tap to open it.
  3. Tap and hold the message you wish to unsend. The option to Copy or Unsend will appear above.
  4. Tap Unsend and the message will disappear from the conversation.

Users do note that if the recipient of your message has Instagram notifications turned on, they will receive a notification when you unsend a message. Otherwise, the person you’re messaging may still have seen your message before you unsend it, but it will no longer appear within the conversation for either side.

Another frequently asked question is “what happens when you send and unsend a text immediately”? For instance, if a user sends a wrong or inappropriate text to someone on Instagram and deleted it immediately from both sides. Then, the person will get a quick notification when you send and unsend a text. 

This notification will be removed as soon as you unsend the text. There is a chance the recipient might know you sent a text to them, given that they are online at the time you sent the message.

That being said, you must try to unsend the message as soon as possible so that they are unable to find out about you sending them the message. Even if they receive the notification, there is no way they can know what message you sent to them if you manage to delete it before they open the direct message box.

The recipient or another person has the option to delete the texts they have sent to you. They cannot unsend the messages received from your end. There is no way the recipient can unsend the texts sent by you. They can delete the entire conversation, but you will still be able to see the messages. 

Conclusion

The easiest method to delete messages on Instagram from both sides is by unsending the messages. Unlike Whatsapp, there is no specific limit for using the unsend option. You can also delete the messages you had sent to someone 2-3 months ago. The recipient and sender will no longer be able to access the texts that are deleted from Instagram. 

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Trending