Connect with us


Cricket World Cup: A Look at the most awaited ICC Tournament

Association Members

Associate Members of the Cricket World Cup are nations that do not feature in the top 12 in the rankings. However, they can become Full Members by winning the World Cup and four matches against Full Members in bilateral matches over an eight-year period. The UAE, for example, has repeatedly complained that Full Members haven’t played them in bilaterals.

In addition to overseeing the cricket world cup, the ICC is also responsible for the ICC Code of Conduct, which sets professional standards for international cricket. It also appoints umpires for Test and One Day International matches and coordinates action against corruption. The ICC also works with its Associate Members to develop a better cricket system and grow the game worldwide.


Cricket has a variety of formats, but the three traditional ones are Test matches, One-Day Internationals, and Twenty20 Internationals. Test matches, played over five days with two innings per team, are considered the pinnacle of the game and require a great deal of skill and stamina. The other two formats are played in a shorter format and require a great deal of temperament.

The format of the Cricket World Cup has evolved over the years. The first four tournaments featured eight teams divided into two groups of four. Each team played the other once, earning points for wins and half-points for ties. The top two teams from each group advanced to the Super 8 round. These teams played each other again, earning points for winning and losing, and then played in the final.

Also Read: Most Wickets in T20 World Cup


The Structure of the Cricket World Cup will be a major change in the next few years. The new format will see three long-term divisions spanning 25-30 months feed into three decisive tournaments at the end of the cycle. Qualifying for the World Cup in 2023 began in Aberdeen, Scotland, this week with the first match of CWC League 2. Oman defeated Papua New Guinea to win their first-ever match under the 50-over format.

The 1999 Cricket World Cup had a structure similar to the one used in the first tournament. There were fourteen teams in the competition, with seven teams in each group. Each team earned one point in the group stage for every win against a team that did not qualify. The top four teams would then play each other in the semi-finals.

Teams competing

The Cricket World Cup is the biggest cricket tournament in the world, and the cricket tournament is hosted by countries on different continents. In 1999, the World Cup was held in England for the first time in 16 years, and Australia was the favourite to win. To win the trophy, Australia had to win all of its matches, and the final match against South Africa at Headingley was crucial for their victory. During the final match, Australia captain Steve Waugh struck the ball in an effort to dismiss South Africa’s Herschelle Gibbs. Gibbs dropped the ball as he tried to celebrate, and in turn, Steve Waugh retaliated by saying that the South African player had dropped the World Cup.

The Twenty20 World Cup is the eighth edition of the tournament. Sixteen of the world’s best teams will be competing for the trophy. The tournament is set to begin on October 16 and will take place at seven venues. The Sydney Cricket Ground and the Adelaide Oval will host semi-finals, while Melbourne Cricket Ground will host the final. Here’s the list of T20 World Cup Winners.


The ICC has announced its decision to reduce the number of teams competing in the 2015 Cricket World Cup to ten, which has garnered both positive and negative responses. Many feel that the decision partially solves the problems associated with the current formats. After all, the tournament has gone through a seemingly never-ending series of formats. Its lack of consistency is not helping the sport.

The ICC must also ensure that the associate nations get a fair share of quality game time. It can do this by limiting the number of associate nations and providing guidelines for the inclusion of new formats. It can also schedule full-members A teams to tour associate nations. These initiatives must be progressive in nature.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *